2005-11-30 - 2:18 p.m.


Okay. So I had to write today because my mother was so petrified after reading my entry yesterday. She left a message on my machine at home:

"Erin - why do you hate everybody? Did you get fired?"

Oh my God, I WISH.

Needless to say, in my entire eight hour shift, I didn't go a single 15 minute time span when someone didn't ask me a question that was:
1. stupid
2. annoying
3. stupid and annoying
4. irritating
5. patronizing
5. nonsense

Add to that the Murphy's Law of Business Flow: dead quiet for five minutes following by:
1. someone needs me to sign for packages
2. someone needs me to book a conference room.
3. someone needs me to transfer a call.
4. someone nneds me to verify an email address.
5. someone needs to see if their guests have arrived yet.

(That last one is my favorite --

"Are my guests there yet?"

"Have you received a call from reception?"

"No..."

"Well, then. No.")

Anyway. You get enough of those five minute spurts along with the stupid questions and soon enough it's like, "OKAY. EVERYBODY IS FIRED. STOP BUGGING ME AND GO HOME!"

But today -- TODAY -- makes up for massive headache of yesterday.

Y'all? I give you a story:

The Most Unfortunate Name (A non-fiction tale by Erin G.)

A non-assuming man walks up to the reception desk and says:

"Hi. I have an 11am mtg with Mr. Bradley."

So I say to him:

"Okay. Great. Your name please?"

And he says:

"Menjfkdhgk."

And I say:

"I'm sorry. I don't think I heard you right. Was that Mandrake?"

And he SPELLS IT...quickly:

"M-A-N-D-I-C-K."

(hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee!)

(hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee hee heeeeeeeeeeeeee!)

The other receptionist couldn't even SAY it. She gets on the phone to Mr. Bradley and she's all:

"Um...Mr. Bradley? Your GUEST is here."

Oh my gosh. It was so awesome.

____________________________________________________

2005-11-29 - 9:43 a.m.

Bah Humbug!

I hate everybody.

That is all.

(comments go here)

____________________________________________________

2005-11-22 - 8:34 a.m.

Things I know right now:

To borrow a format from my friend, Vern...here's some short blurbs about whats going on right now:

** There's really no need for me to get all poopy lip about not having a solo in the concert...NOW THAT I AM DOING A STAGED READING...at Lincoln Center...in two weeks!! Also? Knocking the "do a staged reading" off my 101 list, thankyouverymuch.

** I need some Cliffs Notes for the sixth Harry Potter book. I reading other five AGES ago and I have forgotten more than I thought I did.

** I am initmidated by The Bird. I am cooking my first turkey on Thursday and I am a bit wary about how things will turn out. Also? Knocking the "cook a whole turkey" off my 101 list! Yeah!

** I am considering switching my site to a new server and changing things up...as I am still "Lucky" but no longer a "Stott" (Ouch. Sorry, mom.) Don't know what I am going for or what I want to say with the new work yet.

** I loved cat-sitting and look forward to having kitty-cats at Camp Gilbreth...maybe next year?

** I've tricked three people at work into actually thinking this is MY HOUSE.

As IF! I ask you -- would I be working as a receptionist if it was? I'm just saying.

Here's something I don't know:

** The complete melody to Adam Sandler's Turkey Song . I need to download it because I can't remember all of it and Fred really wants to perform it on our answering maching this week.

Gawd, he's such an ACTOR now.

He did one little presentation at church last weekend and now he performs whenever he has the opportunity.

The answering machine is his favorite medium. (and if you've called us recently, you've partaken of his brilliant work.)

HAPPY THANKSGIVING, EVERYBODY!!!

I'll be checking in with more pics next week.

"Turkey for me, Turkey for you! I like to eat my turkey in a big brown shoe! OH I love turkey on Thanksgiiiiiiiviiiiing!" (your comments go here)

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!