2005-12-23 - 8:15 a.m.

Identity Crisis

Okay...I think I like this new template except that I don't like how pictures show up. I guess I'll have to fart around a bit and either figure out how to fix it or pick something else.

Who am Iiiiiiiiiiiiii?
What am I trying to saaaaaay?

+++++++++++++++++++

Thank God the strike is over. Everyone is so exhausted over here. This whole week has been nothing but:

1) working
2) figuring out how to get to work
3) figuring out how to get home
4) watching NY1 for updates
5) sleeping

Guess which item got the least attention?

Percy the wonder-kitten has been lovely throughout the entire deal, but he hit the wall this morning at 2am.

You see, he's a teenager kitty. He looks full grown, but emotionally? No. He needs to be played with and cuddled. The srtrike had Fred and I grabbing a ride whenever we could and as a result, both of us were gone from the apartment for at least 14 hours everyday.

So at 2am, he kinda got the midnight crazies. I tried to discipline him with the "three strikes you're out" rule (which my sister created for her crazy cat: three pounces on the bed and off to the garage with you!) However, we are dealing with a New York kitty who doesn't understand garage time because he doesn't even know what a garage is. So, when I kicked him out of the bedroom and shut the door, he promptly freaked out.

Finally, I threw on my robe and padded out to the living room to spend some quality time with Percy. Really, all he wanted was to be petted. After about twenty minutes of attention, he curled up into a little ball and fell fast asleep. I? finished my night on the couch since I couldn't get up without waking him.

This morning, Fred called me at work and was all, "Okay. What was UP with the cat last night?"

He's never had a cat before, so when I explained that Percy was having latchkey kid syndrome and that he simply decided (at 2 past pumpkin...thanks, kid!) that he needed a little TLC, Fred yawned and used his "expert" voice:

"Yep. That's good for you. Good training for when we have children."

Oh, okay. We'll see how cute you think that is when YOU have to do pumpkin duty...because mama ain't takin' the graveyard shift on a regular basis!

++++++++++++

On a grateful note, I want to thank my carpooling angels -- I got thru all 3 days without paying for a ride! Props to Coast Guard Carissa, Paulina the Bulgarian financier, and the Funny Sofa Delivery Dudes that needed four bodies in their truck in order to cross the 59th Street bridge...y'all ROCK!

Comments?

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!