2005-12-22 - 6:34 a.m.


I'm jus' sayin'!

Comments?

____________________________________________________

2005-12-21 - 4:13 p.m.

Dear TWU,

I'm all for the rights of the "little guy"? But when the entire city grinds to a screeching halt THE WEEK OF CHRISTMAS because you don't want to play anymore? Eh, not rooting for you anymore. Not so much.

Because, who exactly are you hurting with this strike? Certainly not the upper management you disdain so much. No, those guys take CAR SERVICES. Everywhere. You're hurting people who make less salary than you. Also? You are hurting people who aren't within the sphere of influence, so thinking our complaints will matter is a fallacy. Mr. Kalikow didn't become the head of the MTA because "we" voted him there. Nor Mr. Toussaint, representing the TWU Local 100. And then there's Mr. Pataki, on his last term as governor...moot point.

What's your angle? It's no secret the we, the less affluent, rely on you in order to get around this city. We are the ones that you provide a public service to. And the key phrase in that sentance is PUBLIC SERVICE. There is no OPTION or PRIVELEGE in that statement. We take the subway, not for FUN ("yay! I love the smell of urine! Rats are awesome!"), but because we can't afford to own a car in New York City. You want little tweaks made to your pension? Dudes, I am here to tell you: I am over 30 years old and I didn't even HAVE a pension until ten months ago.

You ask for my understanding.

Mmmmm, no.

At this point, the options for people like me are such:

1) I can walk 5 miles to work and walk 5 miles home (which I did yesterday)

2) I can rely on the kindness of strangers (i.e.: get lucky with a carpool)

3) or I can pay $10 (plus $5 per addition "zone") to get in a cab with three complete strangers -- and I wouldn't be spliting the fare with these new "friends". Oh noooooooooo. We're looking at a $10 initial fee and $5 per additional "zone" per PERSON in said vehicle.

Now -- I ask you: If I was RICH enough to spend $30 a day to get to and from work, would I have even HAVE a metrocard?

See, the thing is, you have a really good package already. In fact, better than most people I know. And, yes, I have heard there are "health concerns" and you don't like the way you are "being disrespected" -- but common sense would imply that if don't like your job or your employer, then YOU GET ANOTHER JOB. I don't see anyone holding a gun to your back and forcing you work for the MTA. Why do you insist on working for an organization the alledgedly disrespects you? It will be "better" - you think - with a 3% raise? Will you promise to have a happy heart then, and not close the subway door in my face when I am trying to transfer across the platform?

Bottom line is that YOU are in control of your circumstances. If it is THAT horrific to sit in a subway booth, then get another job. Yes, you can. Your skills are not so limited that you couldn't find another way to pay your bills.

And now your union is getting slapped with a million dollar fee for every day you insist on carrying this on. So, that pension you want tweaked? You know, the ONE sticking point of your precious negotiations? Good luck with that. I predict it will be non existent by the time you want to collect on it.

Also? Don't go bitching next year when you union dues double. You did it to yourself.

Surly teenagers don't readily receive "understanding" or "respect". So grow up.

~ Erin G.

P.S. Today I heard one of your picketers tell a confused and unhappy elderly woman to "go back to Russia, you old bitch!"

Charming.

Comments?

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!