2005-10-28 - 12:19 p.m.


Freddie: "So tonight? At the men's sectional rehearsal? (Choral Leader) said something really funny."

Erin: "What?"

Freddie (imitating a drama king): "NO NO NO! It's all WRONG! What's UP with you guys? Are you RETARTS?!"

Erin: "(silence)...BWAH HA HA HA HA HA HA HAH!"

Freddie (deadpan): "Yeah...that was our response. Pretty much."

__________________

Oh...man!

I mean, I just peeled into hysterical laughter right there on the subway ride home because...here's how my brain processed that (ala "5 Stages"):

Denial: "He did NOT say that! That's classic! FULL ON pot...kettle...black...all things considered."

and then...

Anger: "Um...you know? That's a harsh thing to say...to volunteers...at CHURCH."

and then...

Acceptance:"However, when I think of who he was working with..."

"Retarts are okay, but I prefer poptarts." (your comments here)

____________________________________________________

2005-10-25 - 8:01 a.m.

Woe is me and my fat calves

When we came back from our honeymoon, we started the process of packing up summer clothes and unpacking our fall/winter clothes.

And then it was all about "What closet are you gonna put that in? Seriously? There's no room for you there" since we hadn't ever officially blended our things (although Freddie had a history of bringing things over to my house and...never taking them back to his house.)

Anyway, I have discovered that I do not have adequate fall/winter clothing this season. I forgot, in all my engagement hoopla, that I threw out a lot of stuff that was looking sad and threadbare. I guess I was thinking, "No biggie, I'll just replace it next Fall!"

Of course, I got married, did my honeymoon thing, and came HOME in the Fall. I have been thrown into the chilly weather with NO DRESS BOOTS.

Now, I am very sad about this because I had a perfect pair that, while pricey, lasted two seasons. And for me, that's a great deal because I live in NYC - which is really hard on the shoes. Nevermind the fact that I've always been really hard on my shoes anyway. If I can get a pair of shoes to last a whole season (re: three months), I am doing pretty good.

Anyway, I had these perfect boots. I threw them out last May because they were a craptastic embarassment after two years of pounding the NYC pavement.

They were from a Major Chain Store, so I thought, "Eh. I'll just buy a new pair next Fall."

DENIED.

Behold my angst: Major Chain Store is not carrying my standard black boot this season. They are doing this Audrey Hepburn thing and this waaaay too high heeled thing.

I like the Audrey boot, but I am not in love with it. I am a substantial piece of woman, so the low, delicate heel isn't quite "me".

And the high heel: yikes. For those of you who don't know, I am a professional dancer. I am required to wear character heels to one of my dance classes. I don't do heels higher than two inches in "real life" anymore. I look fierce in 3 inch heels, but I save it for class and auditions. (I don't endure blisters and munched up feet for anyone unless they can get me a production contract on Broadway.)

Urg.

I am mourning the lost of my standard 2 inch thick heel from Major Chain Store! Oh why, oh WHY, Major Chain Store did you feel so compelled to change it up? I neeeeeeeed your "wide calf" styles!

I have a very hard time buying boots. I have been a jazzerina for over half my life and I got the legs to prove it. I...need...a skosh more room. Otherwise, the boot bunches up funny around my ankle and the skin pooches out of the top and it's just NOT RIGHT.

So, I am very, very sad right now. I am looking for a boot like THIS. Only I need a slightly lower heel. And a wider calf. If you know of any place that carries something like this? Please let me know.

On a totally separate, yet equally bummed-out note, my Big Vice Franchise at Bryant Park is no longer offering Chocolate Moo'd or Peanut Butter Moo'd.

I'm sorry - WHAT?

You see, I have been doing penance, using my lunch hour to go to various government offices to change my surname from maiden to married. Yesterday, on the way back to work, I stopped by "The Jambe" to get myself a little treat. (I deserve it. It's tough work standing in line and stuff.)

I reached the door at the same time as a distinguished elderly gentleman and, being distinguished and gentlman-ly, he held open the door for me. Once inside, I indicated to him that he should go first since he actually hit the door first. But he insisted that I place my order.

Erin: "I'd like a 16oz Chocolate Moo'd, please!"

Counter Girl: "Oh, I'm sorry. We don't carry that anymore."

Erin: "GASP!"

Distinguished, Elderly Gentleman: "what about Peanut Butter Moo'd?"

CG: "No, we don't have that either."

DEG: "Since when?"

CG: "Since last week."

Erin "Whhhhhhhhyyyyy?"(don't you just love how I think whining will make it not so?)

CG: "They just weren't selling well."

Um...yeah. Distinguished Elderly Gentleman and I gave an obnoxious "TSK!" and walked out of the establishment.

I mean, clearly those flavors were selling well enough that TWO PEOPLE IN A ROW wanted to order them.


"D'oh!" (your comments here)

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!