2005-08-11 - 10:40 a.m.

Uh!

I just feel gross today!

I am very moody and I feel two "undergrounder" zits forming on my face. PLUS, I smell like self-tanner and I HATE THAT!

I have been trying to find a good self tanner that doesn't stink for over 5 years. I just tried the new Jergens lotion this morning -- my friend SWORE to me that it didn't stink. But it does. I hate that smell.

And people keep hovering over my desk and getting INTO my cubicle space this morning.

Oh no.

NO.

Do not talk at me while standing over my shoulder while looking at my work.

Grrr.

Oh. And I am trying some new colors and stuff here so hang tight. If it looks wonky, don't worry, I will fix it some time soon.

_____________________________________________________

____________________________________________________

2005-08-03 - 7:50 a.m.

This is Freddie, last week:

"Oh. Look there. You have a new book. Isn't that one of your quilting books? Isn't that one of your favorite authors?"

And I almost wrote an essay on this diary about how great he is for noticing little things, like the books I read.

Little did I know -- he was searching for answers. So were some other friends of mine...for now it all makes sense:

"Oh what a pretty shade of green -- you wear that shirt a lot, is it your favorite color?"

"You LOVE mexican food best of all, don't you?"

"I think Renee Zellweger's a great actress. What do you think?"

They were getting answers to a game...to be played at my - ahem - surprise wedding shower, which was on Sunday afternoon!

I am pretty hard to surprise -- because if I suspect I am going to get a present, I will BUG until the giver just sighs and gives it to me already. It's not me at my most lovely higher-self, I know. However, this time, I was off in "The Bridal Zone" and I missed all the clues, including this one:

Rebecca: "Erin! My mom is coming to town on Monday and I still don't have that chandelier mounted on the ceiling? Do you think Freddie could put it up for me on Sunday afternoon?"

and here's Freddie, on Sunday afternoon right before we went to Rebecca's house:

Freddie: "Oh, jeans. Don't you...wanna wear your yellow sundress?"

Erin: "To...hang a chandelier? Um. Seriously. What are you smoking?"

Fred: "okaynevermindlet'sjustgowe'regonnabelate!"

So we got to Rebecca's house and "SUPRISE!"

13 gals from several different pods of friendship were all there - together in one room - and they went all out with the food and the gifties and the bride-y games...I had such a blast. (Even if I was wearing jeans at my own party, which I - gasp! - totally wouldn't do under normal circumstances. This truly tickled my friends, as it was tangible evidence that they had surely "got me" and I hadn't suspected a thing.)

Now, looking back, I can see that everybody was asking me all these "what's your favorite..." questions all week. It is really amusing to me that I was so distracted by the latest wedding drama and I didn't suspect a thing. Several friends came up to me at the party and said, "Oh my gosh! I almost slipped up last week and said something that would have given the surprise away!"

We played the game where everybody lists what they think your favorite things are. The person with the most correct answers wins. Now, I didn't make the invite list to the shower - Freddie did. He invited a couple of girls that I like...but I didn't consider myself terrible close to them. Wouldn't you know it? Those two girls were the ones that scored the highest at the game. Either they are both incredibly psychic or I am closer to them than I thought. I am picking the second choice there because they both also gave me very nice gifts and gee -- I guess they are both more invested in me than I thought! That was really nice. In fact, I just felt SO LOVED by everyone the entire afternoon. What a terrific memory was made!

I talked to Nat on the phone over the weekend and she put it best: "Well, true, the wedding planning sucks, but the *getting loved on* part -- that just ROCKS." True, dat.

We just sent out our invitations on Monday. I felt so light walking out of the post office! I can't wait to find out who will be able to come to our ceremony!

Hopefully -- pictures posted soon!

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!