2005-06-03 - 9:25 a.m.


It's never been up for discussion with Fred and I -- we've always known that we would marry each other in New York City. This is our home. This is where we met and where we have built our life together.

However, there are people in our lives that really, really, really want us to marry in Lubbock.

Which doesn't even make sense. Aren't weddings supposed to happen on the bride's turf? Traditionally, couples have wed in the bride's home town. I guess it's because the bride's parents pony up most of the cash for the shindig. That, and it's like...the bride is the "star", you know?

Lubbock, people. I can count on my two hands alone the people I know there. And I don't even know them well. Yet, a handful of my new inlaws are puzzled as to why I don't want to marry there. I mean, Freddie's great. Texas is great. So what's the problem?

Although Fred has always been 100% on my side about marrying in our church in NYC, we did clear the air on this issue early in our engagement:

Erin: "Honey, I know your family really wants us to marry in Texas...but it isn't my home. I don't want to be in a strange place on my wedding night. This is Lubbock we are talking about and at the risk of sounding a little snotty, I'm sorry -- I'm not consummating my marriage in a Best Western!"

Fred: "Sweetie..." (kiss, kiss, kiss)

...

...

...

Fred: "I would totally spring for Embassy Suites. It's our weddin' nite!"

This? was an adorable little joke for us throughout our courtship. But as of this week? Oh, Lord.

One the aforementioned in-laws was talking to Fred on the phone, trying to convince him (once again) to get married in Lubbock. Observe:

In-law: "Well, Ah jus don know wha-i-ye y'all don marrah out in Texas."

Fred: "Sorry, but it was never really a consideration. New York is our home. Besides, Erin is very sensitive and wants to spend our first night together as a married couple in our new place. She's just...a homebody like that. She doesn't want to stay in a hotel."

In-law: "But we gaht a real na-i-y-ce La Quinta now."

Ladies and gentlemen? The La Quinta

Fred was like, "Isn't it GREAT? C'mon honey. We can knock boots and then go to Denny's -- Because don't La Quinta resorts ALWAYS have a Denny's attached? Woo Baby! I'm havin' me THE GRAND SLAM!!...what? no? Dang."

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!