2005-04-12 - 8:01 a.m.


It is definitely turning into spring over here in the Big Apple. We had the most lovely Sunday afternoon this past weekend.

In the morning, at church, a friend asked if I was going to play on the softball team this year.

"Well, Actually, I'm going to be a cheerleader this year. Fred's playing -- but I'm not putting myself in the ball's path just months before my wedding. Can you imagine? With my luck, I'd totally knock out a tooth or break my nose!"

"Oh. Okay." our friend replied, "Yeah, I didn't think about that, but that makes sense."

Cut to a few hours later. Fred and I decided to enjoy the afternoon at the park. ("Erin! I love this weather! I feel so...ALIVE! Let's go to the park!!")

We brought our frisbee along.

You see where this is going, don't you?

Fred was being all look-at-me-I'm-crazy-puffed-up-athletic-prowess-guy, showing me all his sexy frisbee moves. He was feeling real good about himself when he whirled the frisbee on his finger a few times, flung it in my direction...and smacked me right on the bridge of my nose.

Hard.

I tried to keep my cool and not cry, but the frisbee hit that place right where your forehead ends and your nose begins. Seriously, ow.

Fred's jaw dropped. He ran over and started hugging me and kissing my face, his eyes as big as saucers.

"I'm so sorry. I'm SO sorry!"

I was all, "I'm...um...I think I'm done playing frisbee for right now..."

We sat on the grass for about a half hour after that as a perfectly lovely WELT rose on the middle of my face.

Nice.

Now here it is -- TUESDAY -- and my face STILL hurts where the frisbee smacked me. People? It's a good thing he's cute, is all I'm sayin'...

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!