2005-04-04 - 3:46 p.m.


It was so easy to move to New York City ten years ago. So innocent we all were back then! I procured an apartment SIGHT UNSEEN with nothin' but a positive reference from a current tennant and parental co-sign on the rental contract.

There was none of this "one month extra for broker fee" business.

There was none of this "check the credit history" business.

It was basically my good friend Nat calling up the Super and saying "My friend just graduated from college in LA and wants to live here, is that cool?"

And next thing I knew, I was faxing a contract cross-country for a place I hadn't ever seen. But no biggie. I was on my way -- Preferrential rent to boot!

Notice I said "preferrential" rent. That's right. It's not rent stabilization. It's basically, "Gee, your friend says you are cool so we're gonna knock a couple hundred bucks off your rent just so long as you, like, pay your rent on time and stuff."

It's a sorta hush-hush arrangement where the rental company gives you a break for no other reason than...just that. Keepin' it in the family, so to speak. It's a pretty cool deal -- but then you are always left wondering when the gravy train will come to an end. You see, being "preferred" doesn't come with any rights. They can hike the rent up to market value whenever your contract ends, IF they want to.

For almost ten years now, I have received a new contract every two years in December. My new contract doesn't kick in until May 1, but it's always nice to know months in advance what the new rent will be. (My preferred status has remained unsmutched since 1996 - so while I usually experience a slight increase in rent, it is still way below market value.) When I didn't receive my new contract before Christmas this time, I grew a little suspicious. I called the Management company in January and February asking for my new agreement -- both times I got a "Uh, it's..uh..on its way to you. Keep an eye out. Okay BYE. (click)"

"Oh, geez" I told Freddie, "I just KNOW they are going to rip my special rent from right underneath me. I just KNOW it."

Sure enough, when I finally received my new contract, I was informed that the rent for my rather spacious and conveniently located outer-borough apartment in a very cool neighborhood was about to hike into the FOUR DIGIT range: from $760 (Squee! a steal, I know!!) to $1120. Oh, and I had to pony up an extra $360 for the security deposit as well.

Ack!

Now, rationally speaking, the rental rates in my neighborhood have skyrocketed ever since we got a Starbucks and Time Out New York decidedly declared that Greek people are cool. Believe me, $1120 is actually a DEAL out here. But a $360 hike? Is that not a wee bit excessive?

I was totally bummed. I went ahead and signed the contract anyway, however. I mean, I am right in the middle of planning a wedding. I can't just up and move my entire life to another apartment by May 1. Besides, Freddie and I have put our blood sweat and tears into decorating the place and it looks SO RAD! It's not like we could find a place of comparable quality for less than $1120 anywhere near Manhattan proper these days anyway.

So -- Boo! with the hiked up rent...

Then...

...a couple weeks ago, I was attempting to organize people at a rehearsal and I was having a rough time of it and feeling rather stressed. Freddie came up to me with a worried look on his face.

"Gosh, I hate to do this right now," He said, "but an envelope came from the Management company today and I think you should open it."

"Oh, great." I said, fearing the worst. But then, they had already ripped me a new one to the tune of $360 more per month. What ELSE did they have up their sleeve?

So I opened it up and...

HOW ABOUT my preferrential rent was re-instated?!!

Granted, the cover letter was sort of nebulous. They didn't admit to any fault...but clearly they messed up my contract because they sent me back my signed copy of the contract with the old $1120 marked out and $840 written in beside it.

Hooray for being preferred!

Because -honestly- I could have handled the $360 hike for a little while...but eventually I would have to move and I am really glad I don't have to.

And THAT'S my "feel good" story for today, since I am feeling good for the first time in a week.

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!