2005-03-22 - 7:32 a.m.

We found The Dress on Friday. I would post a picture of it, but as you probably already know, The Freddie reads my diary...so no picture. However, if you shoot me an email, I will clue you in!

That whole experience was not what I thought it would be at all. I tried on 12 dresses and after awhile, everything started to get blurry and care-factor negative. The Dress was the third one I tried on. I "liked" it, but I wasn't in "LOVE" with it. But everybody around me was like, "Ooooo! That is IT! That is The ONE!"

After that, every dress I tried on was received with a "meh".

Then I put The Dress on again and everybody went "Oooooooo! that's definitely IT!"

Maybe it's because it was on my body, so I couldn't really grasp the full effect...Maybe it was because it was total different style from what I thought I would get...Maybe I brought way too much expectation to the process, but I couldn't help but think: "Okay. So I'll get this one then, since CLEARLY (to everyone else) this is IT. But, no, really? This is IT? Shouldn't I feel all tingling or something?"

But everyone kept on fawning over this dress, even strangers that happened to be at the salon. "OOO! That is so BEAUTIFUL! Do you LOVE it? It's AMAZING!"

Um, okay. If you say so.

So I got That One.

Then, right before my sister left for the airport, I got to see pictures she had taken on her digital camera.

Wow. That dress is really beautiful.

In a weird retro way, I LOVE The Dress now because I have seen it through their eyes. I have what it looks like on me from another person's point of view and not just from a reflection in the mirror.

And NOW

I feel tingly when I think of My Dress.

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!