2005-02-08 - 8:27 a.m.


Ah, a hiccup in modern technology.

On Groundhog Day, Freddie decided we should rent the movie "Groundhog Day" (yes, we are that dorky. Shut up.)

I forgot all about it (as the week got very busy what with the new job and all) but on Saturday night, Freddie came over with a rental DVD in hand.

"Oh! Is that what I think it is? I'm surprised it was even available."

"Oh no, it was just sitting there on the shelf. I had to blow dust off of it. The kid working the check out counter? He was all bored and snarky like, "Dude, this movie? It's due back in, like, seven days." I was greatly amused because obviously we are officially Un-cool Parental-like People who rent old movies from the center aisles now."

So we popped the DVD into the machine and started watching the movie. I haven't seen this one since it first came out (probably before that kid at the rental store was even born), so I was enjoying the story as it unfolded.

Now, if you've seen it - there's lots of scenes that repeat and so the whole time Freddie's going,
"Okay -- thhhhhis is the last time."
"Nope"
"Okay -- THIS is the last time."
"Nope..."

Babe. I got you, Babe.

We finally get to the FINAL scene...and...the DVD freezes up! So we went into the menu, cued up the scene and hit play. It freezes again. So we went into the menu, cued up the scene and hit play. It freezes again. So we went into the menu...

(A bit ironic for "Groundhog Day" if you ask me. Life imitating art like that.)

I never saw the final scene -- from the part when Bill Murray looks out the window and doesn't see the truck go by.

Can anybody fill it in for me? I am assuming it all winds up happy, being that it's a romantic comedy and all -- but I want to know details! I seriously can't remember how this movie ends. Email me separate from the comments section so we don't ruin it for others, m'kay?


____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!