2005-02-11 - 10:34 a.m.


I just finished my FIRST week of having a big girl job.

emma25 emailed me the ending to Groundhog Day - Thanks, woman! And also? She commented on how early I was up.

Whelp, yeah. That's because my work day starts at 6:45am.

Yes. A-YEM.

But, okay, I am a morning person anyway, thanks to my dad who never let me "sleep in" for one a single day of my childhood. Seriously. I didn't "sleep in" until I lived alone my senior year in college. And THAT, my friends, was staying in bed until a slovenly 8:30am (I know, let the pearl clutching commence). Picture it: I was all proud of myself and then my friends were like, "Eh. That's not sleeping in. Not so much."

Anyway. From one who has been molded into Positively Perky from 5am on, I give you a list of what's rad about my job:

1) I am DONE for the day at 2:45pm

2) Which means I can go home and take a nap, or a bubble bath, or watch Dr. Phil, or go to dance class, or go shopping, or go to dance class OR...work out in the hedgehog's SWEET gym.

3) which comes with a personal trainer and (p.s.) it's FREE!

4) It's a really great gym.

5) I work on the 48th floor next to a bay window that spans 40 feet. My friends? The sunrise is incredible. And if that's all I can get out of having to get here so early in the morning, then that's OK.

6) BUT, wait -- there's more! I am here at the ass crack of dawn and...nobody else is.

7) Which means the whole first half of my day is in relatively blessed quiet.

8) I am in extremely close to the following businesses:
Post office

Bath & Body works

Coliseum Books

Mickey Dees (for the free ATM)

JAMBA JUICE (!!!!)

Papyrus

Origins

Little Pie Company

NY Public Library

Pier One Imports

Ricky's cosmetics

Chipotle (OMG, Chipotle!!!)

Needless to say, I am quite pleased. Beyond the profit sharing, 401K, paid vacation stuff -- I have all this. The only thing that is missing is an ANTHROPOLOGIE.

But, you know, that's okay.

God doesn't want me to get too smug and spoiled, perhaps.


____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!