2005-02-04 - 4:30 p.m.


This is my

LAST

DAY

TEMPING.

Good God, I hope forever!

I accepted the job offer at Classy Hedgefund (shall be known as "HedgeHog" forevermore, as my grandma, much to my amusement, said so sweetly yesterday: "I'm so glad you are working with the hedgehogs now!")

Naturally, of course, it wasn't without a little drama. I accepted the offer on Wednesday and then made a call right away to my temp agency to let them know. Unfortunately, Super Agent B was in a meeting so I had to leave a voicemail (definitely not my first choice re: communication, but HedgeHog wanted me to begin almost immediately)

"Uh, Hi B! I have some bittersweet news. I have accepted a full time job and they would like for me to start on Monday. I will honor the assignment at Crappy Bank I Hate for Friday, but I'll need to...I don't know...resign? Do I do that with a temp agency? Please let me know."

So B waited until 5pm on Thursday to call me back thusly:

"Hey E. No problem, we're very happy for you. One thing though -- I hate to mention this, but since you are going back to Crappy Bank I Hate for one more day, I think you should know that you were written up...again. They were not happy with the fact that you reveal you were sitting in for someone while you were dealing with a caller on the phone."

!@#@%#$%#$$^$!!!

I brought my adult into the rest of the conversation but frickin' LOST IT once I hung up the phone. You just can't F'in WIN with this bank. Last week, I got chewed out when a caller wanted to know what floor our department was on. I innocently gave them the information and next thing I know, I'm getting yelled at.

"We don't give information over the phone like that."

O-kaaaaaay.

So this week, I received a caller who wanted to know my boss' title. Hmmm, that's sounds pretty nosy. Better not divulge. I told this woman that I was not able to release that information to her, but she was welcome to leave him a voicemail message or I could transfer her to someone else who could help her better than I.

"What's wrong with you? Why can't you give me the information? I just want to confirm that he is (fill in a corporate moniker here), isn't that true?"

Well, no. The title she gave me was not the same as the title I had on his business card in front of me.

"No, ma'am. I do not have a record of his title being such-and-such. You may leave him a message - as he is traveling today - and he will call you back to personally confirm his title...or I can transfer you to a more senior member of the administrative staff."

"BUT I'M SO-AND-SO! I'm internal and I just want to confirm his title. what's WRONG with you?"

"Well, ma'am, I am covering for the regular assistant. I am not at liberty to release that type of information."

To that, she sighed heavily and agreed to be transferred. She probably bitched about me and THAT'S why I got chewed out right before my final day of working for this bank.

And, I swear, B knew the complaint was a crock of sh*t and that this bank is waaaaay paranoid and needs to get OVER themselves already; but what's really screwy here is that she didn't tell me about it until the last minute when it was just about impossible for me to get out of the job with out having my integrity smeared.

And that? really sucked.

I would have SO cancelled myself out of this final job if I had known that information earlier. So here I am - NINE minutes from the end of my final temp job and I am feeling very relieved and very OVER it right now.

Also? I'm celebrating big time tonight.

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!