2005-02-02 - 8:32 a.m.

(aka When The Right Hand Has No Clue What the Left Hand is Doing)

So remember this?

Since then, I have continued working for Crappy Bank I Hate, but in different departments. No skin off my nose. I just keep my mouth shut and collect my hourly rate.

Also since then, my senior agent K at the Temp Agency decided to work in Corp Headquarters, so I got a new senior agent, B (who is a wonderful lady!)

So, last week, Super Agent B put me on a one day assignment for Monday at Crappy Bank I Hate. She didn't tell me which position I was filling in for, but that's normal; nor did I ask. I usually just show up, do my work and clock out at at 5pm. You can see where this is going right?

I show up at HR on Monday morning and find out I am to report to THE EXACT DESK that I was fired from just a few months ago.

Excuse me, what?!

So I called Super Agent B.

"You know that I was recently fired from this desk, right?"

"WHAT?"

"Yeah. I was released over the weekend. I didn't even get to clear out my own desk. I heard later that one of the other assistants didn't like me and that she got rid of me by claiming I didn't pick up the phones quick enough."

"That's ridiculous...I mean, they SPECIFICALLY requested you."

"Well, okay. I have no problem with the job. I just think that it's...so typical of this place."

"I know."

It's stuff like that -- drives me bonkers with the temping. I have been offered a reception job at Smaller Yet Classy Hedgefund and I am considering taking it for the next year. Just to get thru the wedding planning and get out of debt before I walk down the aisle. I haven't ever taken on a "big person" job before. I have been temping for seven years because it is so flexible with auditioning and going out of town for shows. But I am not going out of town. I am getting married. So I'm not auditioning much right now. Why not take this job?

I have always had a beef with reception work because, when temping, it pays significantly less than administrative work. Yet, you have to be really pretty and "on" because you are the first representation of the company for guests. Seems to me that I should be paid at least equal to what I make as an assistant if they want me to be all cute and smiley. So when Classy Hedgefund asked me what it would take to get me to work for them, I bumped my hourly rate as Executive Admin up by a few bucks...and they went for it!

So it is something to consider.

Oh my gosh. I might be a GROWN UP soon. With a security badge and everything!

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!