2004-12-10 - 10:48 a.m.


You will not BELIEVE this:

Nov 30: I order $40 worth of merchandise on the internet from Sephora with my Friends and Family Discount. I received an email notice that the box with my goodies in it has been sent from the packing facility to the Post Office and I should be receiving it in 2-3 days. Cool!

Dec 2: According to my tracking number as it is plugged into the Post Office website, my package arrives at the Post Office near my house at 9:30am. The notice goes on to claim the the package was delivered at 10:30am. Right.

I, however, wasn't home on Dec 2, nor did my roomie receive the package for me. I came home from a catsitting gig on the 4th to find a peach slip in my mail box telling me that an attempt was made on Dec 2. The package is waiting for me at the Post Office and I can pick it up anytime after 9am on Dec 3. Do you see where this is heading?

Dec 10 (today, Friday): This is the first chance I have had to go to the Post Office. They tell me they don't have the package. They delivered it. On Dec 3. Um....except NO. The tracking system on the website says the package was delivered on Dec 2 at 10:30am. The actual Post Office near my house says it was delivered on Dec 3 at 10:30am. And yet, I have not received the package. Under either circumstances.

Here's some possibilities:

a) Lazy-ass Postal Worker scanned it as "delivered" when it arrived in his little cart thingie on the morning of Dec 2 before he even left the Post Office to make deliveries. THEN, upon discovering I wasn't home, he put the slip in my mail box and brought the package back to the main site....only now the package is lost somewhere in the bowels of the Post Office and there's no way to find it. Because it was "delivered".

OR

b) Lazy-ass Postal Worker scanned item as delivered (see above), put slip in my mailbox on the Dec 2 and THEN, instead of leaving the box at the Post Office for me to pick up after 9am on Dec 3 (as the slip indicates), he attempted to deliver my package AGAIN the next day, but wound up giving it to someone in my building...but NOT ME. In this scenario, some random person accepted the package and is now enjoying my $40 worth of Sephora merchandise.

Needless to say, I am PISSED.

Where's my package? What is WRONG with you, Lazy-ass mail guy? If you leave a slip in my mailbox to come pick something up, I expect it to BE there when I come pick it up. And if you decide you are going to hand the package off to somebody NOT ME, get a NAME in case I come back later wondering why I haven't received it!

Sigh. I'm used to covering my butt like that, having temped in various places for the past eight years.

A PAPER TRAIL IS YOUR FRIEND.

If I was a Postal Worker, I'd be doing everything in my power to make sure I got packages delivered to the right people. How hard would it be carry a little notebook around in your back pocket and get the names of people you deliver packages to when they happen to NOT be the person on the delivery label?

But alas.

To add insult to injury: if I end up getting a refund from the Post Office for the amount spent on said merchandise in the package they can't find (which - HA. Like THAT will happen in a timely manner...), I won't get the same great deal I got on that particular merchandise when I re-order. I was using a Friends and Family discount. And the opportunity to take %20 off my order has passed.

HATE.

Hate the stupid f-ing Post Office SO MUCH right now.

And I thought I'd have nothing to write about today.

Grrrrr!

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!