2004-12-07 - 9:46 a.m.


I have to part with my engagement ring for a few days. I am having it re-sized because it keeps slipping down to my knuckle. It is especially perilous when I am washing my hands, showering, or sweating in dance class. Under those circumstances, I can pull the ring right off my finger with minimal effort. When explaining my problem to Freddie, I got this lovely gem as a reply:

"OOOO! Erin's getting skinny!...er."

This came right on the heels of another conversation wherein we were trying to ascertain the size of a female friend for Christmas gift purposes:

Erin: "Is she...what do you think? Like, my size?"
Fred: "Yeah, but you're hippier."
Erin: "(gasp)!!"
Fred: "I mean...You're like a hippie! Peace and love! Stick it to The Man!Um...(small voice) I like hips."

Right now I am fancying a slip dress style for my wedding. We are fantasizing about a Mexican Fiesta type reception and I can't picture gettin' down with my bad self in a big poufy tafetta number. It just doesn't work for me with the way "fun dancing" feels. So -- we shall try for something streamlined and maybe even (dare we say?) a little sexy. Granted, I have the advantage of being a size 6-8 in real life, so it's not like this is a pie in the sky dream; but I would still like to lose a few and tighten up a bit. You see, I have this Beyonce thing going on (flat tummy, big booty). I've tried slip dresses before and they just get all caught up in my bizness. I know, I know...A-Line is your friend. However, in defending the slip dress style? I haven't actually dieted in years and maybe a slip dress would look good on me if I *applied* myself. I could stand to lose ten pounds. I can admit that. I have until next September to make it happen, although I have already started hitting the dance classes with religous fervor. I want to make sure I look as fierce possible during the whole "appointment at bridal salon/try-y on-y thing". I don't want to fall in love with a dress and then have to vow that I will lose ten pounds later. I don't want to have that hanging over my head. I'd rather look great in the dress when I buy it and then focus on maintainance.

This is all, incidentally, coming up quicker than I thought. I spoke with several brides over the weekend and they were all like "Oooo! Did you buy your dress yet?" I was all, "Well, no. I mean, I just got engaged. I'll probably go shopping in April." "Gasp! Not for a September wedding! Oh no, honey! You have to go NOW!!"

Um...the journey is the reward -- right?

Reading: Janice Dickinson's "Everything About Me is Fake and I'm Perfect"

Watching: Bits and pieces of "The Rebel Billonaire" (but, okay, haven't made it through a whole episode yet) -- that dude? He owns the "Virgin" label and all it encompasses, right? How come I haven't seen a picture of him before and, futhermore, what's WRONG with him? Something's...off. Is it the teeth? It's the TEETH, right? That, or the leathery complexion. Seriously, I get transfixed. I can't NOT look at him.

Singing: holiday songs -- shout out to three awesome LA friends who made mix CDs for me! I love a good mix CD...(currently stuck in my head: "Mamacita - Donde esta Santa Claus?" by Augie Rios)


Oh Pancho
Oh Vixen
Oh Pedro
Oh Blitzen
Ole Ole Oleeeeeeee!
(cha cha cha!)

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!