2004-12-04 - 6:56 a.m.

I didn't get a chance to write yesterday.

I took the day off and did Christmas shopping.

What happened was this: I was temping for my friend, Andrea. I was booked for Thursday/Friday, BUT she was on Jury Duty and didn't get called back for Friday. The bankers were at a conference and honestly, the office was real quiet. She decided to come in on Friday rather than waste a personal day. I don't blame her for that. I would have done the same thing.

So I went on the downlow on Friday morning. My temp agency DID call me in on a job, but not until about 9:30am -- and it was significantly below my normal rate and waaaay down in the financial district, so I turned it down. I missed Freddie's birthday because of work, so I opted to spend the day with him. We had the entire day to hang out and marvel and the fact that we didn't have to BE anywhere at any given time. That was awesome.

We went shopping at a large nationwide franchise and since I have a Friends/Family discount (thanks for marrying into that, my dear sister!), we bought 8 gifts for $86. I absolutely love a great deal! It felt awesome watching the retailer ring the merchandise up to over $130 and then present my card and say "Oh yeah...I have this." -- and then watching the discounts tick off on the register screen. Yeeeeeeeah. baby!

(This reminds me of the time I worked in IT for another franchise while I was in college. I hit a sale with my employee discount AND a coupon from the newpaper AND shopped in the early morning during a promotion -- I cleaned UP, man. Basically, I only paid the TAX on my items. Practically FREE.)

After shopping, Freddie and I spent a ridiculous amount on takeout gourmet pizza and caesar salad. We spent the evening at my friend Madelyn's place. I am cat sitting for her right now and she has some pretty swanky digs, I tell you. So we ate our pizza and watch 3/4 of "Elf", finally. Unfortunately, we didn't finish it. It's a drill weekend for Freddie and he needed to call it a night and get a decent amount of sleep so he could function.

This morning, I am up early. I am bingeing on Madelyn's cable TV becuase I don't have cable at my place. I am enjoying "Inside The Actor's Studio" right now on Bravo. This show's guest is Benecio Del Toro. I think what I love best about this show is the part at the end where the acting student get to ask questions. They try to be all clever and deep. Then the celebrity guest always manages to knock the pretention out of them, leaving them a little gobsmacked. For example, this dude just asked Benecio ("oooo...may I call you Benecio?") about preparation -- and how much time should he spend on the details of his character. Benecio was like, "You know what? Find out the big objective first. Seriously, hit the big stuff and the little stuff will come out as you rehearse. But if you need to spend two days obsessing about what your character has in his wallet, go ahead and do that. That NEED to do that a part of growing up, I think."

Man. Love that.

In other news, I just saw a commercial for Linsday Lohan's new CD. I...may have to go buy it. I haven't had a girl crush since *Britney Spears, The Early Years* -- you know? I'm just saying.

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!