2004-11-23 - 3:12 p.m.


I have had GREAT news for the past week and a half and I'm having trouble telling it!

First of all, I had family in town two weekends ago, then stayed home sick on Monday and Tuesday of last week because all the family fun ran me ragged and I wound up with a wicked sore throat. Then, just as I was starting to feel better, Freddie's mom came into town. And we had MORE ragged-running.

I just managed to shoot of a quick email to family yesterday. (P.S. aforementioned great news happened on the 12th)

Today, I tried to send an email to friends and just after I hit "send", my internet provider at work CRASHED -- I think. I am still not receiving any messages sent to me between the hours of 11am and 1pm. Nor can I view what I sent out during that time. So I don't know if my message got out to the people. OR if it got out to them multiple times because I kept hitting "send". What if it did go through a bajillion times? My friends will be all "OKAY ALREADY. WE KNOW NOW. GEEZ!"

And I was waiting to get a picture to send out, also. Which - again, RETROGRADE and don't make me get into it because it ain't pretty.

Meanwhile, Freddie's all:

"Didja write in your journal?"
"Didja write in your journal?"
"Didja write in your journal?"

Dude. I love you. But...CHILL.

Hopefully, everyone will get the news one way or another. (And won't get their feelings hurt if they read it here before they read it in their personal inbox.)

Here it is:
.
.
.
.
.
.
ready?
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
okay:

I. AM. OFFICIALLY. ENGAGED.

Hurrah! Fred proposed to me at the top of the Empire State Building in the freezing cold rain just minutes after my umbrella almost blew inside out and I rolled my eyes and postured the question...

"WHOSE DUMB IDEA WAS THIS ANYWAY?!!"

I didn't suspect that he was about to get down on his knee -- in the rain, no less -- so naturally, I was caught in one of my not-so-finer moments. Just as I predicted.

Luckily, Fred thinks I'm cute when I've got a foot in my mouth. Aw, thanks, Fred.

So we've got tons of wedding planning to do...after the holidays, thank God. We have some time since our wedding is scheduled for late September. So right now we are just bouncing ideas off each other. Will this site will go the way of the wedding blog? Probably not. This whole wedding thing is a bit overwhelming. I have decided to do this thing without looking at a single wedding magazine. After all, I have a set $$ amount my dad gave me as a gift and that's that. I've seen those wedding magazines before and they are just page after page of what you "should" do. And it's eluded that if you don't jump on the bandwagon and do this thing full out, you'll regret it for the rest of your life. I can't pony up to that kind of pressure!

I'll tell you right now, there will be no party favors or little plastic tubes of bubbles. There will be no matchy-matchy bridesmaids dresses. There will be no "elegant" sit down dinner of semi-cold prime rib. My girlfriends who have had those items aren't in the wrong, mind you...but these things aren't me.

This thing we are doing? needs to involve bright colors, dancing and lots of mexican food. Especially since we are toying with the idea of a honeymoon in (squeeeeeeeee!) Peru.

See how it is? We've got a theme.

Party on, Wayne.
Party on, Garth.

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!