2004-11-05 - 10:28 a.m.


Freddie and I did the �ring shopping� thing last week.

I know.

(squeeeeeeee!!!!!)

We�ve actually known for � well, since the third date � that we are a good match and the marriage thing was going to happen. Earlier this fall, I was flipping thru a magazine and passed by a few ads for diamond rings.

�Hey, girl, do you like that?� Freddie asked me, as he leaned in over my shoulder.

�mmmm�no, not my thing. I like�(flip, flip, flip)�THIS ONE.�

�Oh, okay.� He said, and he calmly ripped the page out.

�DON�T�did you?�Don�t be freaking ME OUT!!!!!�

--------------------------------

Cut to last Sunday, walking home after church:

�C�mon, girl. Let�s pop into this store real quick.�

�Wha? I�no!�gulp..okay.�

�what?!�

� I�well�I feel dumb doing that.�

Freddie didn�t �get� that. I mean, don�t women love diamonds? Don�t women dream of finding their very own Prince Charming who will give them back rubs and chocolate covered strawberries and whisk them off to go shopping for The Big Rock and it�s all so gallant and chivalrous and �As�You �Wish� a la The Princess Bride? Two tons of Bridal Magazines can�t be wrong! (well. Two tons = 3 magazines, so I don�t know.)

So, okay, I *think* I love diamonds. I don't know. Because I�ve been a starving artist my whole life. It's never really occured to me to look at them as if I could acquire them. I�m, like, poverty level as far as income is concerned. I have never made more than $25,000 in a year�EVER. I am 30 years old and I still get an allowance from my dad. (I'm shaking my head and sighing apologetically�although I am being an actress in a very expensive city�so...shrug). Anyway, going into a fahn-cy store to try on fahn-cy rings seemed really scary to me. Were they going to kick me out because I couldn�t possibly be a �real� customer?

�I can�t go in there and try on all the shiny-pretties as if I�m gonna buy stuff�I�m not a grown up.� I said as I stood on the street corner, kicking at the curbside like a pouty, ragamuffin Little Rascal or something.

Sweet Freddie gave me a reassuring look, took my hand and said, �Erin. I'm the one doing the buying. And I own a house and two cars. We are grownups. And you can SO go in there and try on the shiny-pretties.�

So we did. And one hour later, I was bouncing down the street with my arm crooked into his all �GEE! That was FUN! I love diamonds. So sparkly! LA LA LA!�

--------------------------------

Now Freddie knows what I like and The Purchase is eminent. Oooooo! But the actual proposal is top secret -- which has me well-manicured and on my very best behavior at all times. Because the LAST thing I need is to be in the middle of one of my famous drama-queen meltdowns and for Freddie to look at me when those patient, loving eyes and be all, �Erin? Will you marry me?�...juuuuuust when I am being a total snot. That? would be so my luck.

Not that I am planning on be snotty for a real. long. time.

The ring? (to quote Ferris Bueller) is �So Choice�!

--------------------------------
Reading: �No Lifeguard on Duty� I loves me some Janice.

Watching: My weight. I know! I thought I was so past that. But I have been crazy busy and haven�t gone to a dance class in over a week and I am afraid of getting fat from lack of exercise (although the stress is probably doing carbo-burn in overtime�). Yikes.

Loving: the holiday cups at Starbucks. Yay. I love it when they bust out the holiday cups!

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!