2004-07-30 - 11:42 a.m.

I saw the cutest little segment on the CBS Early Show this morning. I tried all morning to find the piece online so I could link it, but no luck. It must have been considered fluffy filler material because it wasn�t listed on the website with the rest of today�s material. But it was so awesome!

A reporter went around the city and talked to kids about the upcoming election.

Here are some of my favorite exchanges:

----------------

Reporter: Would you run for president?
Little Boy: I dunno.
Reporter: Well, how do you feel about defense?
Little Boy: Okay.
Reporter: What would you do for healthcare?
Little Boy: Fix it.
Reporter: Would you balance the budget?
Little Boy: I guess�
Reporter: You know what? You're a perfect candidate.

---------------

Reporter: So, if you became president � would she be First Doll?
Little girl(holding a doll): yes!
Reporter: Most First Dolls cause a lot of scandal. I�m just warning you.

---------------

Reporter: Why do you think the president should listen to kids?
Another Little Girl: Because in the future, we will feel the effects of every decision made today. We have something to say! We�re not just little people who suck money off our parents.
Reporter: Well�there�s nothing wrong with sucking money off your parents!

---------------

After the segment, the reporter said his very favorite interview didn�t make it into the clips reel because the editors felt it would be too controversial:

---------------

Reporter: What do you think of foreign affairs?
Kid: I don�t think it�s right to have an affair with someone from another country.

---------------------------------------------------

Other stuff going on in my world:

Reading: Paulo Coelho�s latest, �Eleven Minutes� � which, in my opinion, is better than his much ballyhoo�d �The Alchemist�. This book has a more contemporary flavor and doesn�t hit you over the head with its agenda over and over (one of my major book peeves). And the main character is female. That�s probably the real reason why I like it better.

Heartbroken: Cute couple Bob and Joyce bumped from The Amazing Race. They were really sweet. Alison and Donny getting sacked was pretty satisfying, but I am ready for more come-uppance. I swear I will dance a jig when Marshall and Lance get cut. All four of them -- I count their double chins as separate entities. Uch. They make my skin crawl.

Summer Fun: free movie and popcorn at Hudson River Park tonight. Isn�t New York great? (Sadly, last week�s �The Goonies� was rained out. But we�re going to try to see �Beetlejuice� tonight despite threatening skies because we are true Goonies at heart and Goonies never say die!)

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!