2004-04-08 - 4:43 p.m.

I finally got my audition time for the Shakespeare Lab. I was kind of stressing about that. See, you turn in your application and then you have to wait for them to contact you with the date/time/place of your appointment. It�s all very Mission Impossible. I turned in my application on March 19 and was starting to get pretty ansty: What if my envelope got lost in the mail? What if they just didn�t think I was good enough? And on and on. The website alludes to auditions happening �in April� � and I think we are definitely into April! Soooo�.like, �Exactly WHEN might you contact me?!�

I�d just like to have a plan, is all.

I�ve been trying to go about my life as best I can, knowing that once I get the call, I�ll have to move the rest of my life around my assigned appointment time. So I finally got the call last night. My appointment is on Wednesday, April 14 at 2:30pm. Perfect, since I�ve already scheduled a coaching session for Monday night. Think of it as a dress rehearsal � Yay! But then, a few weeks ago, I also booked a hair appointment for Wednesday NIGHT � No Yay! I am in desperate, desperate need of a hair cut and touch up on my highlights. I was hoping to get myself all purdy-fied BEFORE my audition. I hear it�s a good idea to actually, you know, look like your headshot.

Right away, I called the salon to see if I could move my appointment up. Granted, it�s Easter weekend, so I had serious doubts. But I have been faithful to my stylist for five years now. I am a model customer! I am never late. I always smell okay. I don�t wear grungy sweat pants. I am nice to the assistants and I always tip slightly above the New York standard. If I ever needed a karmic boomerang, it would be now!

Ergo, the following conversation occurred last night:

(P.S. Hayato is a Japanese salon. There�s a bit of a language barrier sometimes!)

Brinng Brinnnnnng

�Hayato desk!�

�Hi. This is Erin. I have an appointment with Mina for next Wednesday night. But I just found out that I have an important engagement earlier in the day. I�d really like to look nice for it. Is it possible for me to move my appointment up?�

�Hord, prease. (pause) Ah, Mina take you at five?�

�No, I�m her eight o�clock appointment�

�Yes. Mina take you at five?�

�No, I�m sorry. That won�t work. My meeting is at 2:30. I was hoping to have an appointment on an earlier day.�

�I check for you.�

�Thanks, thanks a lot.�

(pages flipping wildly)

�Herro?�

�Yes?�

�Ah, Mina have no time for new appointment.�

�Oh. Bummer. Is there another director available? I just need a trim and color touch up.�

�Ah�Ah�Kanno take you at 4pm.�

�4pm�when?�

�Ah, Wednesday?�

�But � no � see, I have this big audition at 2:30�.ON WEDNESDAY�so I am asking if I can have my hair done before that time. I don�t mind working with another stylist, but I would really like to be pretty by 2:30 on Wednesday.�

�Ooooooh. Ah�.Ah�I talk to Mina. Hord prease.�

(muzac � 3 minutes or so)

�Herro?�

�Yes?�

�No Probrem. For you, Mina fix schedure. Ah, prease to come noon on Saturday?�

�Yes. That�s great. Thank you so much.�

Click.

People? Do I rate or WHAT?!

Look at me � I�m being all Paris Hilton and my stylist is fixing her schedule so I can be beautiful for my public. I have arrived. I am SO on the right side of the velvet rope.

Reading: �Playing Shakespeare� by John Barton. Almost finished. Jason lent it to me, but I think I am going to have to buy him a new one, unless I can charm him into thinking it�s super bad-ass to own a seriously beat-up How-to-Shakespeare book.

Watching: �The Swan� although I don�t know if I�ll continue. I mean, I really like watching the ladies react when they finally see themselves all pretty in the final mirror reveal. I do like that part a lot. But, like, last night? This one girl didn�t make her goal weight of 140. 140! And the doctors were all �Tsk Tsk. So and so didn�t really apply herself.� Now, I weigh less than 140 and I�m sprawled out on my bed eating nutella and bagel chips, watching her struggle and get chastised? That�s not right.

Singing: Tenebrae Concert. It�s finally here.

I usually post on Friday, but tomorrow is GOOD Friday and I have the day off from work. Which is Good! I will be resting. Have a lovely holiday weekend!

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!