2005-07-12 - 4:37 p.m.


Funny thing, that state of Oklahoma.

Fred and I have been updating and confirming our master invite list for the wedding for the past month.

Erin: "Hunny, Tim says he lives at 123 Crown. What does that mean exactly?"

Fred: "huh?"

Erin: "Ponca City Tim -- He says he lives at 123 Crown. Crown what? Is it a street? An Avenue? Like, seriously, it can't JUST be Crown, right?"

Fred: "Oh. I don't know. I'll find out."

So Fred comes back at me a couple days later:

Fred: "Okay. So Ponca City Tim moved. He lives at 456 Pecan now."

Erin: "What the? grrrrrrrrrrrr..."

Fred: "Hee. I know! He didn't offer any sort of embellishment for that, even though I specifically asked. Hey! but I got to thinking about it...and when I lived in Oklahoma City, my street address was just 789 O'Cheese. Just O'Cheese. Maybe that's how they do it there."

Perhaps he is correct. Just two days ago, I received an address for our friend Grace, who is a nomadic vacationer this summer on her way to law school in the fall. She suggested mailing her invite to her parents house...in Oklahoma.

Grace: "My parents live at 135 44th"

Erin: "Okay...WHAT."

Grace: "What, what?"

Erin: "44th what? Street? Boulevard? Circle? Drive? Court?"

Grace: "It's just...44th."

Erin: "..."

Grace: "Okay, FINE. Put - gosh, I don't know - put STREET, if you must. Trust me. They'll get it, okay?Geeeeeeeeeez."

So three's a charm on that one. And I'd like to know: if any of my highly esteemed readers have experience with the shorthand address syndrome in Oklahoma and can confirm this puzzlement for me? I'd be awfully obliged! The only thing we can figure out about it is that there are just less people/homes in Oklahoma and, thus, less of a need to get descriptive about it.

Here in Queens? I've got a 31st Street, 31st Avenue, and a 31st Road all boogered up in one neighborhood. And that's TYPICAL. Nothing lines up straight and logical on the map. When people get all "OH! YOU LIVE IN QUEENS TOO?" and try to tell me their coordinates, I just stare blankly, nod my head, and smile. I usually have no idea what cross streets they are referring to because they all get mixed up in my head.

Anyway. Since I have a rock song title today -- I need to implore you to watch "Rockstar: INXS" and vote for Ty Taylor. Here's a message that found it's way into my inbox last week:

"Friends, Family, Lovers and Dreamers -

Hope life is treating everyone well and sunshine is finding it's way to your hearts. As you all know, it always been my dream to be Rockstar - from the time I was 17 with a jerry curl and sang Prince's Kiss in the rockstar -both an amusement park to the period when I was opening for Tina Turner with my band Dakota Moon to the day i decided to do We Will Rock You - The Music of Queen in Vegas. This dream has been on steady path to becoming reality with the passing days and years and now I will have the opportunity every week on CBS to make it happen.

I was selected out of hundreds of thousands to be on Mark Burnett's (the producer of Apprentice, Survivor, Contender, etc) new show called ROCKSTAR: INXS! It's on CBS and starts Monday - July 11. It comes on every Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. Please watch and support me. It would mean more than the world to me. The winner out of the 15 finalists will be the new lead singer for INXS.

I will be locked in house for the next few months and will be out of communication starting July 5. I looked forward to making you all proud. If you have 10 minutes, please send an e-mail out to your people with this link to my show.

Rockstar.MSN.com Tell them to check out your friend Ty Taylor. If you belong to any big groups, schools, choirs, shows, dojos, clubs, teams, bands, etc. that I've been a part of, please send a blanket e-mail out to them. It is a voting show so the more love the better.

See you on the other side of this crazy thang.

Peace Please,
Ty

www.TyTaylor.net"

Now, when we were watching the show last night, Freddie pointed out excitedly, "Hey! there's your friend!"

The truth of the matter is -- barely. I have partied with him ONCE. But, this guy has a big golden-retriver-heart and I bet if I ran into him on the street and reminded him of the party, he'd be all, "Sheeee-yet, girl! I know YOU! of course youse my friend!"

So, because of that, I am pimping him at every chance I get. I have seen him perform live and he is awesome. So root for him with me, okay?

And with that -- I am off until next Tuesday. Going to Lubbock to visit with Fred's family and
all.
those.
little.
dogs.


(yip!)

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!