2005-04-26 - 8:25 a.m.

I spent my weekend helping Freddie pack for his Naval trip to Florida. He's playing Navy for the next two weeks, which he is required (we think...) to do each year.

One thing we've learned to just LUV about the Navy:
Nobody.

Knows.

Nuthin.

Freddie has recently taken to a "general consensus" approach whenever he has a question about protocol. He'll ask 20 people the same question and, of course, get about 20 different answers. He'll then lump the answers into either "sorta yes" or "sorta no" categories. Then, he goes with whichever has the most votes.

Thank God I did not have to do two years of military service after high school like the kids in other countries have to. I am as appreciative and patriotic as the next civilian, but I'm a tellin' ya, I am not cut out for it. I am way too sensitive and I can't handle it when people "out rank" me or can't answer my questions effectively.

Freddie never actually received a rule book or anything when he joined the military.

"How did you know who to salute and stuff?" I asked him.
"I don't know...I just watched people and heard about stuff from other officers." he shrugged.

That? would drive me BAT SH*T crazy.

So, back to the packing. Which took ALL DAY and nearly ALL NIGHT on Saturday. Because we had to use our secret decoder rings to figure out what to pack. And I'll tell ya something else: for being an organization that has historically eschewed homosexuals, they are awfully picky about shave-this and crease-that and being all matchy-matchy with the outfits. I'm just SAYIN'...

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!