2005-02-25 - 8:41 a.m.


Freddie really, really, REALLY wanted cable tv.

"A home without ESPN is no home at all", he proclaimed.

I told him that if he could find a good deal, I would agree to it. Which he did. We received our blessed cable box two days ago and now that we have worshipped at the altar of Time Warner for a couple days, I think I have discovered the REAL reason why he wanted cable.

Observe a typical dinner conversation:

"So I saw on Oprah today...?"
"Wait -- you were watching Oprah? again?"
"Well, it was already on that channel."
"Ah, I see. You happened to take a break at 3pm and it happened to be on. Seems to occur rather frequently, If you ask me."
"Will you let me finish?"
"Sorry."
"It's rude to interupt."
"Sorry."
"The coaches don't allow that at the Starting Over House. Everybody gets a chance to talk."
"?"
"So anyway, I was watching Oprah..."
"Bwah ha ha ha ha ha!"
"Are you MOCKING me?"
"(snurfle)...don't be silly."
"You know, if you don't celebrate my sensitive heart, I'll retreat."
"..."
"Dr. Phil says so."

Dude! He might be a die-hard Red Raiders fan...and he might leave whisker stubble in the sink...and he might PUT WET CLOTHES IN THE HAMPER SO THEY STINK UP EVERYTHING I PLAN TO LAUNDER FOUR DAYS LATER...But the love of my life? He secretly digs the chick shows!

So naturally, I had to push the envelope while channel surfing the other night:

"Oooo, Look, hon! Now we have Oxygen, Lifetime, WE Network...Oprah can "happen" to be on at any time you like!"
"...(sulk)"
"Hee hee. I love you."
"You know what? You better quit NOW smartypants...and stop hogging the remote!"
"...butt pie"
"butt pie."
"...BUTT PIE!"
"BUTT PIE!"

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!