2005-01-07 - 3:48 p.m.


Okay, so I must preface this story with the fact that I recently dyed my hair red. (Pictures forthcoming)

I have been blonde my whole life and, okay, I am almost embarrassed to write it down, but I am used to getting flirted with at least once a day. I am not tryng to toot my own horn here...I think said flirting had more to do with the long blonde hair than with ME because when I went red (and by the way? - ew. On me. The first shade of red made me look like a twelve year old with a henna rinse that my mom washed in two days before my debut in a community theater production of "Annie". The second, browner shade? Meh. I look like me, only "serious-er".)

ANYWAY. When I went red, the random flirting and cat calls stopped. Which is weird because I thought men LIKED redheads. Whatever happened to "yeah. She's a REDHEAD!"

For me? No such attention.

But perhaps there's a policeman in Lubbock who fancies the redheads.

It was my first *flirting* of the year and it kept Freddie from getting a major violation on his driving record!

See, one of the major reasons we had to go to Lubbock after Christmas was to get Fred's car out of the shop. It had been sitting there for almost a year and Fred just wanted to have it back in his posession before we went back to New York so he could start the process of selling it. Here's what we didn't realize until we started driving it home: all the registration stickers and insurance? Totally expired. By, like, alot. Fred still had the '03 sticker in the windsheild. I rooted around in the glove compartment and found '04 sticker, but here it was January 1st, 2005. We ought to have had the '05 sticker on by then. So that was slightly unacceptable. Then, I was opening all the documents I found in the glove compartment and noticed that the insurance in the car had run out in March of 2004. Great.

"Freddie -- isn't this kind of illegal?"

"Yeeeeeah. Let's just not get pulled over, m'kay?"

Insert police siren here.

So Freddie pulls over and I put on lip gloss. We'll see about THIS.

The cop declares that he is pulling Fred over because of his expired sticker and can he please see the license and registration? So Fred hands over all the paper work and explains that he is aware of the expired sticker "...but, you see, officer, I used to live here but now I live in New York. I am visiting and decided to get my car out of the repair shop, that's why everything is expired...but I will get it updated, I promise."

Cop looks in the window and sees me.

"Weeeeeeell, hi there. You visitin' Lubbock?"

"Yes, sir."

(Cop sees that I have a tissue in my hand.)

"Aw, you have a bit of a cold, miss?"

"No, sir. There's just more... uh...nature here than in New York City. I just had a little sneeze. (big smile, bat eyes)"

"Oh, okay. Just so's you're okay."

The cop turns back to Fred and explains that he is going to write up a warning notice. A mere warning notice! For driving with expired stickers and no insurance!

When we got ourselves out of that scrape, Fred turned to me and said, "Woman! If I had been driving by myself? I would have had NO MERCY from that guy...you do realize that, don't you?!"

I just shrugged, smiled like the Cheshire Cat and replied, "He likes them yankee girls, I guess!"

(P.S. By "nature"? I really meant DIRT.)

Other stuff to know about Lubbock: it is very flat and very brown. The people talk funny and there's a church on every third block.

On the plus side? Nobody called me Ma'am. I may be in my thirties now with a big rock on my left hand, but the men of Lubbock still consider me a Miss. Good Times!

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!