2004-10-12 - 12:43 p.m.


I always considered myself a cat person. Maybe because I don't know any better. I've always lived with cats. I adore cats. I love that they are self-sufficient. I love that they are sleek and refined. I love that they have boundaries and make it very clear that YOU aren't allowed to cross the line unless THEY permit you. Yeah, cats are stuck up. And I dig that.

So recently? I fall in love a...dog person.

(I don't know, can you call them dogs?)

He's got YIPPY dogs.

Those little hyper, run around your feet, love me, love me, oh please love me, what are you eating can I have a bite of that....dogs.

Uh, yeah. FOUR of them.

I didn't really know what to do with that information at first. I was always hoping that once I settled down and got myself a husband, I'd get myself a couple of sweet cats and we'd all hunker down together in our fabulous NYC apartment and be a fabulous little family. Fabulous.

Insert record-scratch-in-my-mind's-soundtrack when Fred mentioned breezily, "Oh, well, sometimes my dad feeds stray cats in the garage...but we don't let them in the house!"

(eeeeerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrt!)

I'm all, "Oh no, this is not a cat lover. This is not a person who shares my worship-o-the-cat. What to do?"

I had a dog for a few years when I was a really little girl, but then again -- I was a really little girl. I didn't have to scoop the poop and walk her and play with her and take her to the vet and watch out for her. Not my job.

And.

She was a BIG dog.

Big dogs rock! Little dogs? Mmmmmm...not so much. Especially the really hairy ones. They get eye boogers. And then their hair gets all matted up by the eye boogers. Yech. I'm just not a big fan of the small dog.

But then, Fred returned to New York after a week long visit to Texas -- and he's got his camcorder and he's all "Oh, let me hook this up to the TEEvee and show you mah dawggs!"

Four little yipsters jumping all over him.

"hi!"

"HI!"

"You're home!"

"Hooooooooome."

"I love you"

"I love you."

"HI!"

"Home. home."

"hi!"

"Love you"

"Hiiiiiiii!"

"hi!"

"hi, hi hi!!!"

And I found it all just a little charming and NOW I've got doggie-on-the-brain and I'm all "WHAT?!" about it because I never seriously thought I would consider opening my home to a...dog.

I took a test online to find out what types of dogs are best for my apartment/work situation.

Turns out, I need a small, hypoallergenic dog that doesn't mind missing a few walks every now and then. I mean, I have a pretty busy life and "going outside to play" might (realistically!) end up being 10 minutes at the curb of my building a few night per week. I just thought I'd go ahead and be brutally honest about that when taking the test.

Turns out -- there ARE dogs in this world that prefer to stay indoors. My top breeds were:

1. Italian Greyhound
2. American Hairless Terrier
3. Miniature Pinscher
4. Xoloitzcuintle

That last one is a Mexican Hairless. Also? the total winner of my list! If Freddie and I end up getting a pet dog -- and that's likely to happen a couple years from now -- we are totally getting a standard Xolo.

Incidently, I informed Freddie of this and he was all non-chalant and "(shrug) ai'ight" about it. I hope this reaction is a harbinger of things to come. I think it would be really great for our marriage if he proves this easy to convince in all matters. Because then I'll be all:

"We need direct TV!"
"We need to go shop for me at Anthropologie!!"
"We need....a trip to Hawaii!!!"

I'm just sayin'

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!