2004-09-28 - 10:45 a.m.

Again.

Haven't written on schedule.

Because my mom notified me late last week that she and my dad were coming into town for a few days. So I have been enjoying their company and kicking serious butt at "Uno", if I do say so myself. (I won 3 out of 5 games. I ask you: Who's the WOMAN?!)

Yesterday was a bit of a downer for dad. Not only did he LOSE big time with the Uno (as in, getting stuck with 240 points in his hand on one of the games that I WON), but he also got cheated out of the full museum tour at South Street Seaport. The tour guide just...didn't show up. What can I say?

I *Heart* NY

Then, we went to dinner last night at a fancy-schmancy Mexican restaurant on the Upper East Side. Now, I love Mexican food and I have been told often that I should give this place a try because it is the VERY BEST place for Mexican food in all of Manhattan.

However, it is definitely outside of my financial means. Boo!

But then, mom and dad are here! Hurrah!

So I made reservations for last night.

Now -- They have these world famous pomegranate margaritas and WHAT-EVER because apparently they are pre-blended.

See, Dad wanted a

Normal

Plain ol'

Classic

Frozen

Margarita. And it was not possible.

I feel the need to remind you at this point that my dad is a CEO-level executive. He puts billion dollar satellites into outerspace and he is not used to hearing the word "No". He was completely baffled by the waiter's refusal to cater to his desire for a regular frozen drink and I have to say, I can't blame him on this one.

I mean, excuse me fancy restaurant -- you don't have A BLENDER?

We figured that they must have the pomegranate drinks churning away in a pre-made keg with a spiggot in the back of the kitchen. And while they tasted good, dad just wasn't having the pink frou-frou drink. Nor could he be convinced into having a magarita on the rocks. Because he just. doesn't. like. them. that. way.

After the waiter left the table, he pouted and promptly ripped up the business card to Fancy Mexican Restuarant and declared the place perfectly suckful.

So I guess it's back to that OTHER Mexican place on 9th Avenue. You know, that place full of poor actors and very tall glasses filled with slightly watered-down slushy goodness. That place where they pack the tables so tight that I am often tempted to play Dr. Phil and give the table next to me some kick-ass therapeutic advice...since I am so present to their conversation. Also? they charge extra for a second basket of chips.

I am telling you, I try to take my parents to these lovely restaurants every time they visit. And it usually blows up in my face. This morning I told my mom that since we will be in a hurry to get to the theater after I finish work tonight, we'll just grab a quick bite at "West Side Cottage II"...

...and my mom's all "Really?! Please?! Because I love West Side Cottage!!"

Now, WSC II is this dinky little Hunan restaurant on the West Side in mid-town. Seriously, I have never spent more than $15 there.

From now on, I have officially decided to go low-brow because apparently that's what my family goes for.

-----------------------------

READING: In Style. Sigh. I haven't read anything good for me in a really long time.

WATCHING: Nothing. Like, I haven't even had time for my beloved TOP MODEL and I am so sad about that. Oh, but I am going to see "Bombay Dreams" tonight at the the-ah-tah...so cultured am I.

SINGING: In choir again! We just started rehearsals again...which is part of the reason why I haven't been watching TV.

-----------------------------

The HOW-CUTE-IS-HE award: Goes to Freddie this week...for picking at his chicken dinner on Saturday night and then tripping over his own words as he asked for my parents blessing. BLESSING. Oh yes. He made his move -- despite nervousness -- and I am SO PROUD of him!

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!