2004-06-18 - 11:43 a.m.

So...yeah.

Renovations on the apartment are going well. I finally got to take a shower last night. No, you read that right.

Last friday, I had the day off. It was the "National Day of Mourning", or "Reagan Day" as I like to call it. My bank was closed because...I don't know...did Reagan invent the stock exchange? I might have been way too busy back then to notice. (I was choreographing dramatic dance routines to "Careless Whisper" in the living room with my Get In Shape Girl rhythmic ribbon.) Anyway. I embraced the unexpected day off and began painting the tub and tile in my bathroom.

This is a project that I've been putting off because it just seemed so...involved. You see, normal paint doesn't adhere to tile. (Will you please make a note of that, my lovely landlord? Because I'm sure the other tenants don't enjoy paint chips clogging up their drains either. Thanks.)

First, I had to purchase special epoxy tub and tile paint. Then, I had to scrap all the old paint off of the offending surfaces. Then, I had to sand it all down so the paint would adhere. Then, I had to wash the tub and tile so it was clean for the new paint. Then, I had to mix equal parts of the epoxy paint and epoxy gloss and stir it up just so. Then, I had wait approximately 60 minutes before painting the first coat. (notice I said "The FIRST coat".) Then, stick my left leg in, stick my left leg out, stick my left leg in and shake it all about.

See? The directions were fairly busy, so I just put it off for as long as possible.

However, I had this free day now! So I decided to just DO this enormous task already. Plus, I couldn't handle my icky peeling bathroom tile anymore. I worked and worked and worked -- AND -- I didn't even have good TV to keep me company. I could watch the Reagan funeral (on almost every channel) or...Montel Williams.

Anyway, I finished painting the first coat and realized I wouldn't have enough paint for the second coat (which -- by the way -- I was supposed to apply in a window of 12 - 36 hours after the first coat).

I cleaned up the best I could in my kitchen sink and walked over to the paint store to purchase another special paint kit. When I got home, I started reading the instructions on the back of the kit just for kicks. Here's something I found waaaaay down at the bottom of the box. Funny, I didn't notice it before. It was in rather small print:

After second coat, do not use surface for a minimum of five days.

Wait...WHAT?!

But...my TUB!

So -- I did the only thing I could do. I called a couple neighbor friends and arranged "appointments" to shower at their homes. Yes. They laughed at me.

I also bought a big box of lavendar scented baby butt wipes to freshen up in a jiff if I needed it. But I still felt disgusting all week. You don't know how much you miss your very own awesome water pressure until you don't have it!

I was FINALLY able to use my own shower last night and, oh, it was such bliss.

Also, my new tub and tile is sparkling white now. As white as movie star teeth. I love it. Even if I had to be stinky for five days to achieve the new look.

Reading: "Redeeming Love" by Francine Rivers. I bought this book for my mom for her birthday, but then I was like "Okay, but can I have it back to read after you? It looks so good..." It is a fictional retelling of the book of Hosea from the Bible...only it's set in the wild, wild west where -- check it -- (you gotta use your Disneyland "ThunderMountain" narrator voice here) "Men sold their souls for a bag of gold and women sold their bodies for a place to sleep." Yes. That's really what it says on the the back cover. Yee-haw, y'all!

Watching: Reggie on "Next Action Star". Look at my friend! He looks SO great on TV! Too bad he wasn't picked to move into the house as a finalist.

Singing: My 16 bar cut of my "contemporary musical theatre" piece for auditions (No, I'm not going to tell you what it is. It's MINE. ALLLLLL MINE). I tried it out on my classmates and they were like "nuh-UH! You did not just give us a TOTAL character arc in 16 bars, did YOU? That was awesome!"

Yay, me!

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!