2005-01-14 - 12:18 p.m.

Had my first wedding meltdown a few nights ago. I'm not proud of that, but...there you go. Some of you are quite familiar with my delicate emotions. Were you casting lots as to when I would first lose it?

"There's just so...so...m-m-m-much to do (gasp) and I c-c-c-can't do EVERYTHING, you know! (sob)!"

I haven't ever been married before...so I don't know how to do all this stuff. Wedding = huge mountain of planning. Can't I please just snap my fingers and have it all taken care of? I am eager to be married, but not eager to wade thru all this protocol. Why don't I just elope? Good question. I was all for it for about five minutes and then I realized that I'd look back on later and say wistfully, "gee, I wish I had done that in a church with all my family and friends there..."

So, I wade.

Fred (a red-blooded male who's natural response to a crying girl is "FIX IT, FIX IT FAST!!") is convinced that we can SO do this. We just need to take it in little bite-size pieces.

At his suggestion, I took the day off from work yesterday and we got a joint bank account. Check that off the list, thank you very much. Then, we went to a hotel and... (NO, not THAT! you are diiiirty.) ...we researched a housing option for our guests. Next, we will look at the invite list and actually book a block of rooms at that hotel. By then, we'll be big pros and that, so we will do the other two hotels. DONE by the end of January. Whoosh. Hotels: done. Okay. Wedding in New York City. We can do this.

I was really glad that I took the day off to knock a few things off the old To-Do list. In addition, we sat down for over an hour at Starbucks and wrote out a little timeline so we can tackle with out (hopefully) more of my famous meltdowns. True, I lost a day of work to do it...but a day's wages vs. my emotional security? I endorse that and I assure you, so does my husband to be.

I do have a sense of humor about myself, by the way. I would be insufferable if I cried all the time with out being able to laugh about it too.

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!