2004-05-17 - 1:25 p.m.

Had a rocking time on Long Beach Island. Here�s some things I learned:

1) Long Beach Island is about 2 hours away from NYC. Actually, 2 � hours because it take a half hour just to get from 42nd and 9th to the Lincoln Tunnel.

2) But if Amy�s driving, you can be there in an hour/forty�EASY.

3) Also, you have to bring lots of quarters and dimes because the tolls are usually 35 cents and the machine doesn�t like pennies.

4) There�s a Cinnabon (!) off the Garden State Parkway in Monmouth.

5) You need to bring someone who owns a guitar so you can sing songs late at night. (Thanks, Rosemary!)

6) You need to bring someone fascinating. Samantha just finished two years of missionary work in Bangladesh. We spent the entire weekend all, �Sam! Sam -- tell us another story, okay ?!!�

7) You need to bring �the crazy one� -- Grace was the only person on the entire beach brave enough to bodysurf in the chilly water.

8) Bring �the Finnish one� so you can laugh at her sunburn. (Sorry, Liisa-with-two-i�s! And OUCH!)

9) Eat fried seafood. It�s your job because you are on vacation at the beach.

10) The white gauzy curtains look really cool blowing like that�but you will wake up in the middle of the night really, really cold.

So, YEAH! I took lots of pictures, including one of Grace and a baby turtle that she found swimming next to her in the ocean. She brought him up on the shore for us to see since she knew we wouldn�t believe her if she just said, �Hey I saw a turtle out there!�. The water was kind of murky, like the beaches in Los Angeles�so I was surprised that there was any sea life so close to the shore at all. She put him in a sand castle that a kid was building, much to the amusement of everyone around us. And then, because she�s a nice woman, she put him back where she found him. The water was kind of rough, so I was surprised that this little turtle (who was about as big as my hand) was able to swim around out there. But I�m no expert on those things.

What I do feel like an expert on right now are my friends. I went on this trip with a group of women that I knew somewhat well. Now I know them REALLY well. And I�m so glad for that. We had an awesome time. There�s something about throwing your bag in the trunk of the car and heading out of town with friends � you know when you are doing it that you are making an amazing memory. So it�s weird the way you are present in it and at the same time, the inner monologue is saying �soak it in! remember everything! you are going to look back on this for the rest of your life and SMILE.� I am looking forward to my road trip in August with Denise and her family even more now.

No Tawdry Tuesday Tidbit Today! (It's actually Monday and I'm taking tomorrow off from work. I need a vacation to recover from my vacation!)

____________________________________________________

last entry next entry

Supergirl Central:

Erin G's lofty pursuits include sampling candy, taking naps, memorizing showtunes and shopping at Daffy's. She's a joyously dorky theatre girl. Also? a big fan of cats, well-written books, and her good lookin' an' schweet lovin' husband, Freddie.


The Latest:

New Year, New YOU! - 2006-01-06
Honey. GROSS. - 2005-12-29
Minty Fresh Kitty Mouth - 2005-12-27
Identity Crisis. - 2005-12-23
I'm jus' sayin'. - 2005-12-22

The Archives:
2005
2004

The Links:
The 101 List
"Heeeeey, you!"

email me


Behind the scenes:

design � cece
dafont for aquiline
explodingdog
hosted by diaryland

GillyGirl to the rescue!